Weekend Playlist: Shatter.Trip Flock!

flock

Hey guys. Throwing another Weekend Playlist at you. I am going to try to keep these at least fairly regular. We’ll see how well this works out.

This weekend was sunny in my neck of the woods, however it was also hot and humid and muggy. Nasty, nasty weather. A perfect excuse to shun all outside related housework and get some gaming done! And boy did I game.

Where to start, where to start. Last week, PSN had Flock! on sale for half price. I had been on the fence about buying it. I downloaded the demo and liked it, but was unsure that I liked it enough to pay $15 for it. However I snapped it up when it went on sale for $7.50. For that price it was a great snag. It is probably also worth $15, but half is a good price. It is an enjoyable game, humorous, colorful, and fun. what’s more, it was made by one of my favorite dev houses, Capcom. What more could you want? For those unfamiliar, you play an alien race that has come down to earth to abduct yourself some local animals. It starts out fairly easy, just herding some sheep into your mothership (wittily (that a word?) called the mother-flocker). Meeting your abduction quota in a timely fashion nets you bonuses, as well as exceeding your quota. The game even comes with a level editor so you can create new maps for unsuspecting Internet-herders to headache over! Overall a good game, it’s no God of War, but fun to run through a couple levels when you only have 15 or 20 minutes to play.

Burnout Paradise. I’ve gone through this game before, so I’ll not waste much time on talking about it. Still enjoying this game. Playing online is a lot of fun if you can find people worth playing with.

Shatter! Last week, Shatter went on sale on PSN for the pricey sum of $8. For those of you who are fans of games like Arkanoid or Breakout, this game is for you. Great graphics, new gameplay ideas, and a good soundtrack makes this game worth every penny. The only unfortunate part about playing on PS3 is that there is no paddle controller like the ones Taito makes for DS:

DSPaddle

But, if you can get beyond that and get used to playing with the Dual Shock 3 analog stick. Shatter is a great game.

Bit.Trip Core I am still trying to master this game. It’s difficulty is of the epic proportion surpassed only by the likes of the Mega Man series. But in the same vein, it’s enough fun where losing the game doesn’t makes you feel too badly about yourself. In fact, you come to expect it and accept that it’s a fact of life when it comes to Bit.Trip Core.

Final Fantasy 4: The After Years As a huge Final Fantasy fan, when I saw that Squeenix had developed and released a direct sequel to my second favorite Final Fantasy game in the entire series (4JP, 2US), I about shat myself. I didn’t even know this was going on. When I saw the release announcement a few months ago, joy was jumped for right here in my office at work. My boss still questions me on it once in a while. I tell him I ate a bad breakfast burrito. The game takes place approximately 1 generation after the events of the original FF4. You play (now) King Cecil’s son Ceodore. What’s great is that aged versions of a lot of the characters we all know and love for the original make appearances. It is played in the same world, even uses the same music by the legendary Nobuo Uematsu. Square took a modular approach to FF4:TAY, you download the main game for $10 which includes the main story. You can then purchase add on stories for different characters (So far: Rydia, Yang, Palom, and Edge’s tales are available) for the pricey sum of $3 each. More modules are coming down the pike as well. For fans of FF4, like myself, I say buy this. BUY IT NOW!
FF4TAY

Finally, we had a guest up for the weekend who had never played The House of the Dead: Overkill. We decided to introduce him to this great game. He ended up playing through the entire game he enjoyed it so much. Thankfully, the game can be completed in a matter of a few hours. That doesn’t make the game not worth playing or buying. For those of you who enjoy hokey old school horror film humor and lots, and lots of gratuitous gore and cursing, this game has no shortage of either. This is an on the rails shooter that works perfectly for the Wii. I swear the Wii was built exactly for this type of game. Resident Evil: The Umbrella Chronicles is another game that just works so well on the platform. I am very pleased Capcom is working on another OTR shooter for the Wii. I’ll be first in line to pick it up. In any event, if any of you who have read this far have not purchased or played Overkill, I suggest you check it out, great game. Disturbing ending, but great game.

That’s about it for me (what, you wanted MORE than that?). Anyone else play anything fun?

Leave a Reply

