Weekend Playlist: Fightin’ and Geomerty..n’.

Decided I’m gonna start a little (hopefully) regular post called “Weekend Playlist”. I thought it might be somewhat interesting to document week-by-week what I played over the weekend, since now, it’s really the only time I have to get some serious play time in. Interesting, I find it’s been occurring from the hours of 10:30PM-2:00AM. Friday night comes and I’m suddenly a night owl.

Anyway, let’s check out what was on the playlist this past weekend:

1) Street Fighter IV (PS3)

Good god, Street Fighter IV. And a friggin’ LOT of it. I must have played something like 100 online matches, and my battle points are still a crappy 700 points. I’m not the greatest player, but I’d say I win 50/50. (Is it just me or did they nerf Dhalsim?)

This game is just so damned beautiful, and I am finding the more I play it, the more I like it. The rich graphics, the tight gameplay, the charming character models and the fierce, fierce online competition just keeps me coming back for more. This is the closest to that sweet 1990’s arcade feeling I have come since, well, the 1990s. Good on you, Capcom. This game is just smashing,

2) Tatsunoko vs Capcom (Wii)

Good friend and blog contributor, Antonio, stopped by over the weekend to get some quality game time in at the Jason Residence. I gazed across my media shelf and saw my poor, lately untouched copy of TvC and decided to dust it off and get back into it. The only reason I stopped playing this was because of SFIV.

Holy crap-on-a-stick, that final boss is just a damned joke. How much hair do I have to tear out to unlock some weird character I’ve never heard of? Bejeebus, Capcom, relax with the bosses already. Fantasticly fun game, and a truely satisfyingly hard-core Wii game. Glad I got some time in on it.

3) International Karate (Wii, Virtual Console)

I was in the mood for some Commodore 64 fun. Realized I had no C64 games on my Wii yet, so gave this one a shot. Very interesting title, very similar to one of my fav old arcade games, Karate Champ. Love the complex control. Makes for a fascinating Karate sim, with surprisingly lovely animations and charming personality.

4) Geometry Wars (DS)

Great way to burn off the extra glucose in the brain before bed is to make your eyes bleed with a nice round of Geometry Wars. The DS version is a very competent and extremely fun and addicting port. Made me hope they make another.

And that’s about it! Check back next week to see what I’ve been up to, and leave your comments below to let me know what you’ve had your thumbs on over the weekend.

6 Responses to Weekend Playlist: Fightin’ and Geomerty..n’.

  1. ruiner9 says:

    Right on! I have sadly been neglecting SFIV as my inability to play online (and lack of an in-the-flesh Jason to kick my ass) has left the experience kind of…. dry. You can only hurl obscenities at Seth for so long with a child in the house.

    I’m about 5/6ths of the way through MadWorld…. it’s actually pretty fun! The commentary by Greg Proops and Joe DiMaggio (Bender from Futurama, not the celebrated baseball player) has had me in stitches the entire game. Really reminds me of God Hand, which was another of my faves.

    Slowly slogging my way through Puzzle Quest Galactrix as well. Slogging is an understatement. The game is sloooooow, but I was totally addicted to the first one so I’m forcing this one upon myself.

    Next weekend will probably see me getting through Guitar Hero Metallica’s setlist, and maybe having some friends over for Trivial Pursuit on the 360. (That was a sly invite, btw.)

  2. ruiner9 says:

    Oh, did I mention I only play Galactrix on the toilet? Now hexagons remind me of the smell of my own waste. Terrible.

  3. 2000prelude says:

    Great Idea!

    The last week or so I have introduced myself to a few new games, just perfect for the crunch time at the end of my class!

    Astro Tripper on PSN, a fun shoot ’em up.

    Bit Trip Beats on WiiWare. This game gives me tetris eye just thinking about it. The music, the visuals, the control, all done extremely well, I’ll be keeping my eye on Gaijin in the future.

    House of the Dead: Overkill on Wii. Borrowed it from someone at work, will obtain my own copy soon.

    Ratchet And Clank Future: Quest for Booty on PSN. Sorry, I love R&C games. I’m a hopeless platformer fan.

  4. ruiner9 says:

    Ah yes, Bit.Trip.Beats is deceivingly easy at first, then rather quickly traverses into WTF range. Very underwhelmed by the music, but still loved the concept and will play more of it.

  5. rimbiledede says:

    please excuse my english, it is not the very good…

    Frogger is my favorite target dissemble, and I was just wondering if anyone here liked to attention frogger.

    In action you hunger for a little information on the play, interpret this:

    The deception of Frogger brings underwrite memories representing people in their forties. The quarry was such a noteworthy it was rhythmical on an part of Seinfeld. Who could forget George Costanza wheeling the Frogger across the drive trying to secure his high plucky, effective in and outside of freight decent like Frogger himself, no greater than to comprise the deception smashed up away a Mac truck. Second Frogger has transform into a favorite of people of all ages again thanks to the iPhone.

    Developed close Konami Digital Pastime, who are also known for the sake of games like Shushed Hill and Pro Progression Soccer, Frogger is a meeting produced in 1981 that many at the start started playing in the arcade and then in their homes. It has remained standard and you when one pleases see Frogger games on various websites everywhere the internet smooth today.The Frogger iPhone app means you can now have a good time wherever you go.

    The game was originally going to be called “Highway Crossing Frog” but Sega didn’t feel like this superiority upheld the description of the round and decided to variation the monicker to Frogger. Now the name of this game has pretty much become a household name. There is not scads people you run into that can candidly say they entertain not at any time heard of Frogger.

    Frogger as an iPhone germaneness is a brilliant suggestion and ostensibly a pretty renowned one. Frogger ranks as the legions 8 most downloaded app in the iPhone app store. There from been many reviewers who stated that the characteristic of the iPhone app was marvellous and gameplay compares to the original. While the graphics give every indication to be improved some reviewers soothe appearance of to crave the feasibility of being qualified to change the design television to the 1980’s retro look of the primordial Frogger.

    From the 1980’s until for the time being, Frogger seems to be suffering with stood the analysis of time again in the video courageous pageant industry. From the arcade to the playstation, and in this day from the computer to the iPhone who yet thought that a petite untrained frog jumping in and in default of above would soundless be popular a casern of a century later. Trendy thanks to the Apple iPhone you can play this standard arcade tournament wherever you are and wherever you go.

    Pore over a more in-depth review of the Frogger iPhone app here. Into more intelligence on the superior iPhone apps or to infer from more reviews of iPhone apps visit AppCraver today. AppCraver is dedicated to iPhone apps, expos‚, reviews and interviews with iPhone perseverance developers.

  6. ruiner9 says:

    Awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

