Peek/Poke #1: Coleco Tabletops from the 1980s

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "Peek/Poke #1: Coleco Tabletops from t…", posted with vodpod

Somehow I forgot to post this here. My teachers always said I didn’t pay enough attention and that I’d be a failure someday. They were half right; you decide which half.

Back in the 1980’s, Coleco released these bad-ass (yeah, I said bad-ass) tabletop arcade machines. I wanted these so badly I spent nearly $10,000 in magician’s equipment to put on shows and earn enough money to buy them. I never made a dime. As I type this, I only now realize I could have bought anything I wanted with that $10,000.

Peek/Poke is sort of a sister show to the grander Bit Museum. A bit more of a critical show that rates some of the retro gear and focuses more on individual titles and software rather than the hardware itself. My nerdiness, as you can see, also comes with a heaping helping of obsessive/compulsive disorder for your ridiculing pleasure.

I take a look at the gameplay, cases, artwork and overall sexiness of these retro beauties. Check out the sweet Donkey Kong Jr. Game & Watch cross-over in the series. Neat stuff.

One Response to Peek/Poke #1: Coleco Tabletops from the 1980s

  1. […] These two Game Center Banks straight outta Japan feature Breakout and Tetris, and will cost you a coin (of any kind) per play. Ingenious. In the same vein as Excalibur’s new Space Invaders and Frogger Tabletops, these units also use Coleco’s tried-and-true 1980’s case mold. Check out Peek/Poke #1 for more on that. […]

Leave a Reply

