Amazing 1970’s Sesame Street Animations

Do you ever get those weird moments when you’re out mowing the lawn and some random synapse fires off in your brain, briefly displaying some forgotten image for a split second? I’m sure there’s some catchy medical term for that, but I have no clue what it is.

That happened to me the other day. I was outside working, and suddenly, this image of rainbow colored circles with an eerie choir of human voices flashed into my head. I hadn’t thought of that in years, but I knew exactly what it was. It was one of many animated interludes from Sesame Street in the 1970’s, and it was one of the most mesmerizing images that I had ever witnessed as a child, obviously ingrained enough in my concious to resurface itself some 20-something years later.

Anyway, I did what any self-respecting innerwebs user does: I went to YouTube. I found that these animations were accompaniment to the work of the brilliant composer Philip Glass, though I didn’t find any credits to the animation itself. As I watched these again for the first time in decades, it dawned on me that this is the stuff that defined who I am. I can distinctly remember running to the TV if I heard that hypnotic music. I sat there wide-eyed at the TV as those colorful shapes danced around the screen, nearly anticipating their next move, and finding an odd comfort in the geometric movement. Yeah, Big Bird and Oscar were great guys…gave me lots of laughs. But for some reason, these odd animations were the stuff that really fascinated me as a kid. It seemed like back then, there was a lot of stuff on Sesame Street like this that had less-obvious educational messages, and left a lot to the young viewer to interperet for themselves.

Now I’m a designer and digital animator who loves odd minimalistic electronic music. Go figure.

Anyway, enjoy the video. If anyone has any further info on these animations and who I may credit as being the artist, please let me know by mailing me at jason(dot)cirillo(at)NOSPAMgmail(dot)com. (Yeah, just a little paranoid.)

One Response to Amazing 1970’s Sesame Street Animations

  1. ruiner9 says:

    That’s actually a ritual satanic insignia. Just kidding.

    I definitely understand what you mean when you get flashes like that. Whenever I play a puzzle game like Tetris or Bejeweled for a long period of time, I start seeing dozens of images and memories that I haven’t thought about in ages. I’m sure parts of my brain that I’m using to solve the puzzles also house those memories. I had completely forgotten about that animated sequence until watching it now though. It was one of my favorites too. Those were the days.

Leave a Reply

